Friday, October 17, 2014

Cooper (Corps Security, #4) by Harper Sloan

Not the Cooper I thought this book would be about when this series started. Though we get the older brother Asher who is just as gorgeous and just as haunted by his past. He basically raised Cool when they were cursed to have a mom who thought them nothing short of worthless. Coop was set in his ways in the ways of woman. With a mom like he had he figure all women were the same and vowed to never to give his heart to a woman. How I wish Coop could see the child that's coming into this world and see just how much love he has to offer. Now the child will always know what an amazing man their dad was. The child will never know what its like to go without love. Finally his brother has found love with a great woman and hopefully somewhere his brother is somewhere smiling at that.

Leah's Seduction 5 (Gianni and Leah) by Emily Jane Trent

Finally a breakthrough of sorts. The more time they spend together Gianni is stubborn to admit that there is more to their relationship than just being sexual. Leah is opening up feelings he never thought he'd feel or deserved but by him finally opening up about the locked room their is a strong shift in their relationship. Truth has a way changing things and feelings and Gianni is trying to grasp these new found feelings. The plan for his enemies is finally coming into fruition. Which shows why he is the successful businessman he is today. It feels like toward the end that Gianni is wants to come to grips with these new feelings that he has for Leah, but refuses to give in to them. Even though in their sexual relationship she is the submissive and he is the dominant, it would seem that in the battle of hearts she is the dominant and he will have no choice sooner rather than later to just submit.

Leah's Seduction: 4 (Gianni and Leah) by Emily Jane Trent

This maybe my favorite book in the series. Gianni continues to deny his growing feelings for Leah but he continues to read the journal and open up Leah sexually. Leah is more sure than ever that she loves him and doesn't hide her feelings but she is hurt despite his actions and the way he cares for her that he still denies that he is in love with her. We get an even closer look into the mind of Gianni the business man the moves he made and the way be handles his enemies is absolute genius. At the end Leah is surprised by an invitation to spend Thanksgiving with his family. Why can't Gianni say he loves her when all his actions say otherwise? Maybe after Thanksgiving weekend we'll find out.

Saturday, October 11, 2014

Status (Social Media, # 4) by J.A. Huss

Just trying wrap my head around a few things. Finding out about Grace/Daisy's past. Which was absolutely and totally messed up. The man who took her a sick and twisted man. The secret that Sam was hiding which compared to Grace is so insignificant. I wonder if her and Tray will work things out since something's were out of his control. Is something going on with Felicity and Conner am I imagining things? Through everything Vaughn has turned into the man of her dreams. He's loving attentive and supportive. Of course the love scenes have only gotten hotter. (Anyone else wanna float in Vaughn Asher river?) When she finally returns to her apartment nothing is like it was as Vaughn took charge as only he can. Which Grace finally accepts. Then the secret that she forgot, the thing that Vaughn hopes he's forgiven for is no longer a secret. Which causes her to spiral out of control and once again push Asher away. Nothing surprises her or me more than what was waiting for her on that roof. Book four was pivotal book in the series and things can only get better or worse from here.


Friday, October 10, 2014

Beck (Corps Security #3) by Harper Sloan

This series continues to gut me. The amount of pain that each has to go through is downright painful. We get a deep insight into Dee and Becks relationship. What may have seen like them playing games on the outside on the inside Dee was facing demons no one could have ever imagined and it was Beck who was there to pick up the pieces. Finally Dee laid everything bare to the people most closes to her: Greg, Izzy, and Beck. Once she was let go of the pain that she was holding inside she was finally able to love Beck like he deserved. That was not a easy feat. The years of pain that Dee went through and how she covered up with her happiness and a smile but only one saw through all of that Beck. The problem with her business is bigger than they anticipated and it also has some commonalities with a case the guys are working on. Sadly in the midst of everything a hero lost his life, which left everyone including me completely heartbroken. Despite the loss something amazing came out it. I look forward to seeing what exactly becomes of that surprise and the people that will be affected by it.

Tuesday, October 7, 2014

Cage (Corps Security #2) by Harper Sloan

These men have the biggest hearts. Underneath their tough exterior are men who wants love but are too broken to thing they deserve it. Cage and Melissa have heart break and loss in common. Unbeknownst to them. Together they have to learn that sometimes you can't save everyone and two broken halfs can make a whole. They both have years worth of regret but together they are able to pull. They go through so many things to make this relationship work: A secret, a crazed out ex, and unbearable guilt. Despite the unimaginable heartache they go through during the course of their relationship they were able to be the family, love, and strength they needed to heal and I couldn't be happier for the pair. Next its Beck and Dees stories finally we'll learn why she is so broken and how hard Beck is willing to fight for her or let her go.

Monday, October 6, 2014

Axel (Corps Security #1) by Harper Sloan

I love a man in uniform and if that man in uniform has big sensitive heart how can you resist him? In the first installment Axel is featured. Axel and Izzy love story is full of pain and mis-communication. They spent years apart thinking the other had given up on their love. This story was filled with so pain and hurt but most importantly second chances. Despite and Ex husband coming back to claim what he thought was his the couple to have a happy ending. Though the ride to that happy ending was bumpy. I look forward to the next installment with Cage. Haunted by the memory of his sister who was never able to save. Hopeful in his story he can find love and redemption.

Sunday, October 5, 2014

Leah's Seduction: 3 (Gianni and Leah) by Emily Jane Trent

Gianni continues to open Leah's up to knew experiences and she has complete trust in him except over her heart. She is trying to be the woman that Gianni wants but fails miserably in keeping heart separate and she falls in live with him. Gianni continues to only give everything of himsrlf in a physical aspect but what Leah wants most is heart, which can't or won't give. He doesn't seem want to be without her but is it love? The fact that he enjoys being around and loves every aspect if their physical be enough? Leah is woman that wears her heart on her sleeve eventually Gianni will have to put his heart in this relationship or no matter how much it hurts or destroys Leah, Gianni may lose the best thing that has ever happened to him.

Stepbrother Dearest by Penelope Ward

There was nothing I didn't love about this story. It starts off with a stepbrother coming to live with his fathers new family and that was the least complicated part of the story. There was an instant attraction between Greta and Elec. Though at every turn Elec sought out to make her life miserable. In the midst that though he start to like her. After one night when she stood up to his father and comfort him after a nightmare. They shared one night with him before he had to leave and that night would change the course of their lives. A tragic event brings them all together and secrets and feelings unravels. A secret totally blew my mind. Though through all of the that true love happened which led to a son's redemption. I could not put this book down. I wish I could give this book more than 5 stars it was just that good.

Thursday, October 2, 2014

Assumption (Underground Kings, #1) by Aurora Rose Reynolds

Autumn has a lot of baggage thanks to her mom and her ex boyfriend but she wants more for her life. Working as a stripper as until she fully becomes a nurse. One night at work changes everything and now in order to save her life she must move into a new town with a roommate who takes some getting use to. Only going on half the information and Kenton's growing attraction he begins making assumptions as does she. After awhile they begin to let each other in. They realize they have more than attraction between them. Thanks to Kenton, Autumn is blessed with the family and love she never had. Kenton is a man who is willing to do everything to keep her happy and safe. Which he proves on more than one occasion. Autumn has come a long way since her brutal childhood and a mother who only wanted perfection. Now that she has a family of her own, her healing can now begin.

Wednesday, October 1, 2014

Chains by Kelli Maine

I absolutely loved this story. From the first page I was sucked in. This foster kids were each others strength. Essentially told from the POV of Tyler a would be MMA fighter finds the girl he left behind. As kids Tyler, Alex, and Danny were adopted by an abusive man who hid who he was to the outside world. Even though were no longer underage he still haunted them and for Danny he could never quite let her go. Somehow the three find each other again. Taking joy in being together and the few moments of fun they had as children. When it seems like the trio would all find their happy ever after tragedy strikes. A ending that made me hold my breath. Beautifully written heartbreaking story.

Leah's Seduction: 2 (Gianni and Leah) by Emily Jane Trent

Gianni and Leah continue to grow closer. The more Leah gives herself to Gianni the more her feelings for him deepened. Leah tries to deny it but even Gianni can see and feel it because despite what he tells himself he's beginning to feel the same way. Between reading her personal thoughts and having her near him and how she gives herself to him willingly before long feelings will get involved. There's also the fact that she may be a pawn at work. How long will Gianni and Leah give up the pretense that they care about each other and it's more than just sex? When will Gianni come clean about reading her private thoughts?

After the Internship (The Intern #3.5) by Brooke Cumberland

A perfect ending for the unlikely couple. It was nice to see so many things further resolved and a few surprises. We go through the drama of wedding planning while dating a high profile model. The paparazzi seems even more out hand which causes the couple to take a step back and realize what's most important: each other. After taking time for themselves plenty of changes happened. Brighton decides to make a career change that benefits his new family. Ceci has also found happiness in a career she loves. Ceci and her family gets further closure with the death of her father. A lot of tears happy and sad but I couldn't think of a better ending for the couple.

Leah's Seduction: 1 (Gianni and Leah) by Emily Jane Trent

Leah has a lot on her plate. The things going with her family and a boss who takes her for granted. Though she finds solace in her journal. She holds nothing back. All of her fears, desires, sort comings its all there in that book. She misplaced her journal but she has no idea that the man she met or bumped into is the man who has been reading her inner most desires put on paper. I have to say I'm not much of a Gianni fan in this one. Yes he's hot and rich and swoon worthy but I don't care much for how he treats Leah. Typical rich guy who can have any girl he wants. Some guys can pull that off I'm not seeing that though with Gianni. I'm hoping as their story continues he redeems himself. Otherwise I suggest Leah leave before her heart and body becomes even more entangled up in Gianni.

Empathy by Ker Dukey

I choose to read this book on a whim and I'm so happy I did. I could not put it down. This story has drama, action, intrigue, and mystery. The story starts of with a big brother who did what he could to protect his young brother and the results of that one night cause a ripple that would effect the rest of their lives. This is just one of those stories you must read for yourself. If I could write a review that wouldn't give anything away I would. Another one of my top reads for 2014. I'm officially a fan of this author.

Block (Social Media #3) by J.A. Huss

The more I read about Mr Vaughn Asher the more I love and the more he continues to surprise me. Still a dominating male with an alpha covered shell. Though somehow Grace seems to be changing him for the better. Instead of fighting it, he seems to be embracing it. Grace is just getting a handle on things when rumors come out which send her spiraling and of course through some major drama Vaughn is there to pick up the pieces. So Vaughn let's it known that he knows her secret or most of it. So now they 'publicized' their relationship what can possibly go wrong? After a drunken night night truths are spilled and promises but Grace somehow forgets all of that the next morning. What I'm waiting to know is what exactly happened that night in a drunk haze that he hopes Grace will be able to forgive him for? Also for Grace now that Vaughn knows just about everything will she fill him in on the rest?

The Dark Light of Day by T.M. Frazier

This is definitely not your typical romance. Abby had no idea what love was until she lived with her Nan. Up until that point she was the only one whoever loved her. Having been cursed with abusive parents Abby was thankful to have someone to love her. Then suddenly everything is taken away from her and she's left with no one to trust. Enter Jake. All around bad boy and contract killer. In the end the guy that was her friend turned out to be more of a monster than the contract killer. Abby and Jake let each other see a side to each other no one has ever seen and they fell in love. Part love story part redemption. A rollercoaster ride of intense drama. I was totally swept up in Abby and Jakes story.

Hemy (Walk of Shame #2) by Victoria Ashley

I'm so in love with these boys. Right away He my pulled at my heart strings. A damaged boy who became an damaged man who was just trying to cope. Though in his method of coping he loss the love of his life. Through some miracle he is granted a second chance with Onyx and is he ever the relentless one. Fight as she might she can't resist him though now that she knows he has changed she still has one secret left to tell him. That hurt for a moment but eventually he was able to get the family his parents tried to destroy when he was younger and the love that he never knew was possible.

Twisted Together (Monsters in the Dark #3) by Pepper Winters

A perfect ending to a not so typical love story. After the first two books I was thinking how long into the book I would get before the bottom fell out. Monsters out there worse than Q want him dead. Feeling betrayed that he was nothing like his father. Which in the book right up until the very end he thinks he is. Throughout Tess fights over unworthy feelings for Q but circumstances gives her a chance to prove just how alike the pair are. When Q is taken the roles are reverse she is intent on getting back just as much as he was when she was taken. I'm happy that the pair have finally found some happiness in the midst of the darkness that they have faced so far. They are truly the others equal and realized that love like never comes along twice. The wedding was absolutely beautiful but not without some surprises thanks to Suzette. Who I was happy that Franco finally took noticed and realized she wasn't that broken girl he held when she arrived. I'm going to miss the pair but I'm curious what life will be like for them once a little Mercer is added to the mix? It may another set of issues for Tess and Q to overcome.

Slade (Walk of Shame #1) by Victoria Ashley

What is up with these Walk of Shame boys. They crept into my heart without me even knowing it. Slade was once this clean cut lawyer who fell in love when tragedy struck and somehow ends up being a stripper and a bartender. Then his roommate decides to help his friend Aspen out and right away you could see the chemistry. They both have baggage that could fill a 747 and somehow they manage to break through the damage and fall in love. Though not with a lot of lapses in communication. I look forward to getting to know all the boys and seeing beyond the pretty faces they project to the world and the pain underneath. To finally see them face their demons and heal.

Like (Social Media #2) by J.A. Huss

If at all possible Mr Asher is even hotter than in the first installment though in this one it was nice to get to know than man behind the movie star. He is a caring a loving brother and amazing foster father to the girl that hacked into his account. Surprisingly forgiving and patient. When it comes to his other proclivities he needs control. Grace fights him tooth and nail but eventually she gives in. I don't think she has any idea what she is in for by being 'his'? After reading this installment I know that I can't wait to find out. How much more demanding can Asher get, will Grace continue to fight him? Will the both learn to compromise and trust? Questions I hope to be answered before the series end.

Uncivilized by Sawyer Bennett

Not much to say except I am absolutely in love with Zach Easton. Completely uncivilized but he loves like no one else has. Moira is hired to take Zach away from the home he has made for himself after he was left there due to the death of his parents. Her job was to civilized and uncivilized man. Memories of being raised in the modern world made to transition easier. They both pushed each other's buttons and became closer than they realized. All the while the big thing that hungover both their heads is that Zach will return to the Amazon to the people he's come to love as his own but he's also grown to love Moira and the godfather he didn't think he would love. So many twists and turns that left me guessing right until the very end. I must say that after reading this book that Zach Easton has changed my perspective on a few things that I thought I knew. One of my favorite reads for the year.

Quintessentially Q (Monsters in the Dark #2) by Pepper Winters

This installment of Q and Tess' love story just broke my heart. It seems that just when they find some resemblance of normal the past comes to haunt them and take over. Once again Tess is kidnapped and forced to do the worse things imaginable which leaves her completely destroyed. Q himself kills people in ways I don't even want to describe to get her back. Though once he physically gets her back his fight for her mind has only just begun. In order to get her back he decides to give away one thing he never has before... control. Though it almost killed him it was exactly the thing needed to bring them closer together for Tess to resembled the woman he once loved. Hopefully Q's love is enough to heal Tess from her nightmares, and as the story goes on I hope that Q will fully except that he is deserving of love.

Tears of Tess (Monsters in the Dark #1) by Pepper Winters

Heartbreaking and beautiful. Its kinda weird to describe a dark romance such as this as beautiful but it fits. Tess and her boyfriend Brax set out on vacation when tragedy strikes. Tess is kidnapped and forced into slavery. After a few days of being captured and tortured she is sold to a man named Q. Q is not the man she think he is and she will find that lesson out painfully. During the course of story she fights him and every turn while at the same time unable to resist him and what he does to her. She finally escapes him and realizes that she was safer with him all along. That escape change their relationship. They both seem to be able to give the other what they need. After what she has endured thus far some may consider this relationship unconventional but I think the have found their other half. He did hardest thing he's ever done and let her go but no matter how many times he told her to leave she held strong and knew her place was by his side. Now that must slowly navigate this relationship something that is unlikely and see can the monster and the woman he can't be without have a happy ever after.

Spin (Songs of Corruption #1) by C.D. Reiss

Mr Antonio Spinelli is the kind of guy good girls like me should stay away from because in the end you'll only get hurt. Theresa is not that much of a good its easy to be fooled by her EX Daniel the DA whose running for mayor or her job as a successful accountant. Somehow the pair makes sense numerous times they tried to end things but from that first meeting their fate together was sealed. They have both endangered the others life by being together. Antonio even more so falling in love with an American girl and with war breaking loose. I look forward to reading how the couple tread through these dangerous waters together. With enemies on both sides if the law intent on bringing him down. The Capo with his Contessa.

Filthy (Fierce #3) by Clarissa Wild

I loved being inside Jaret's head. Learning what turned him into the filthy and prideful man we see in the beginning. In his younger years he lost his best friend the only person he's ever cared about and wanted to make proud. Without her he turned into the man that we see today. Essentially lost without the one person he loved. A chance meeting brings Lin back into his life along with one big complication. Just being around her gives him all the hope he once had and the love he never got from his own parents. It seems like the love they had as kids didn't get stopped it was only put on pause. There aren't many times in life you'll get a second chance with your first love. Forget entitled and strong minded parents and boarding school. Forget that you were a screw up and in your parents eyes ruined your life. All that matters when a second chance presents itself is that you take it. Fierce, protective, and loyal a girl would be so blessed to have a guy like Jaret to love and fight for her.

Captured by Jasinda Wilder

Heartbreaking and memorable this is one of those stories that will stay with me for a long time. Such vivid story telling that transported me into the book whether I wanted to be or not. Every moment of pain, heartbreak, despair, and love was felt. How these two were able to come out on the other side of happiness still amazes me. A woman as a wife of a military man was use to being the strong one and a military man who was once confident but after time as a POW has become a changed man. I hope to read more stories from this pair because as heartbreaking as this story was and I can't wait for more.

Follow (Social Media #1) by J.A. Huss

I absolutely love the premise of this book. A normal girl finally meeting the famous guy she has been fantasizing about. She tweets without a filter and say everything she would to do to him and have him do to her. I mean how often does a celeb see the naughty things we tweet them? I'm finding out it its more often than we thought they do. Seriously we they favorite said tweet(s) its enough to make you hyperventilate. Vaughn is as hot as he is in his movies and magazine covers and says what he wants I can't blame the girl for crushing on him for years. I often wonder how I would handle myself in the same situation. I loved Grace's character until she finally had he chance to do all those things she said she would do but she just fights him on every turn. I wanted to slap her so many times the continue back and forth of wanting to be with him and then letting the fear take over and second guessing herself but apparently it turned on Vaughn. The moments when they allowed themselves to be vulnerable I really enjoyed but then Grace's walls comes back up and then Vaughn hides behind his sexual control. I believe the truth behind Grace's holds the reason for unwilling to be control as for Vaughn growing up in the spotlight and his lack of control may be the reason he craves it so much. I absolutely loved he cliffhanger t reminds of a moment I had with my own celeb crush. Needless to say I still talk or tweet without a filter. So will Grace finally be able to let go and trust Vaughn and will Vaughn learn to let up on some of his control? I have no idea but its going to be torture waiting every two weeks to find out and I can't wait.

Vanquish (Deliver #2) by Pam Godwin

This book was so worth the wait. Since we read that he managed to survive being shot by Liv. In book one we only knew him as heartless and cruel. Essentially a product of the drug addict mother who raised him and psychotic father who brought him to the life of sex trafficking. within the heart of a man laid a scared little boy. who knew that was what a closed off agoraphobic needed. In the time they spent together. They managed to heal each other and remove those lingering securities. I'm so happy we saw Van's POV more importantly I'm so happy that things worked out in the end. Even though he was kidnapper, rapist, and stalker hearing about his childhood just ripped my heart to pieces. Which lead me to fall in love with him right along with Amber.

Wild Temptation (Wild, #1) by Emma Hart

Ever since Tyler came on the scene in the Call series I was pretty much smitten. Rich, handsome, British, and a womanizer what's not to love. Then Liv and Tyler meet one night and that changes everything. Though who knew the guy she had an amazing night with just so happens to be the cousin of her best friends fiancee? Which seems fortunate for her and Tyler. Though through the course of their physical only relationship they find they actually like being around that person but both may have to do something that have never done. Both Tyler and Liv are both emotional screwed up and tortured people but together they work and make each other better. Still so many obstacles to navigate through but I think if they talk out it out before assuming things I think that have a great shot at a happy ever after.

Debt Inheritance (Indebted #1) by Pepper Winters

I had to take a step back to try and review this book. Its been a few weeks and I still don't know what to think of it. Nila is taken hostage by Jethro Hawk to fulfill so lifelong family debt. What that debt is, I have no idea. The story has been pretty vague about what was done that would warrant the first born daughter to be kidnapped and taken in by this family. Right off I see that Jethro is not like the other members of his family and Nila is not like any of the women that has been taken. So many parts made me cringe and other parts just left me holding my breath. After the cliffhanger I don't see how this story can end in a HEA. Still so many unanswered questions. I look forward to reading the next installment.


UNMASKED: Volume 3 (Unmasked #3) by Cassia Leo

It seems like forever since the last installment but it did not disappoint. Daimon both learn valuable lessons and found out what they were made off. Daimon displayed a softer side but was still the ruthless hitman we loved in the previous two books. We show that he longed for a family as much as Alex did. He also hoped for forgiveness for an unforgivable mistake. Alex finally realized who she could trust and let her guard down. All that's was left was to get revenge on those who hurt her and to thank those who showed her kindness. Parts of the book broke my heart but I knew that Daimon and Alex were stronger together than apart. Other parts I cheered as those who got punished did though they did prove they only killed when they needed too. Lots of action and most importantly we got closure with the truth. The chemistry between them was more profound than ever I guess getting rid of all the lies helped them tremendously.

Saturday, August 16, 2014

Sing (Songs of Submission, #7) by C.D. Reiss

What a wild ride this has been. We've been thorough ups and down with the couple but nothing could have prepared them for what they would have to face. While Jon faces a dire health crises Monica's live is following apart. She somehow manages to keep sane by writing lyrics for her EP which she keeps pushing back due to Jon's medical situation. I was apprehensive about reading the story based on the ending of the last book but thankful it was a happy ending. Not to say that my heart was in my throat until the very end. We saw just how family rallies around their brother/son/lover/husband in a time of crises. I almost didn't want to keep reading. The whole I was reading I was thinking please don't let Jon die but then I saw some chemistry between her and Brad the cardiologist. I can't believe I had a moment I actually felt sorry for Jessica. We learn just ho far she would go to win back Jon and that trust fund. Jessica divorcing Jon may be the best thing she ever did. So thanks for torturing me until the very end I loved every minute of it.

Nancy's Romance Reads: New Release: INCANDESCENT by River Savage - Excerp...

Nancy's Romance Reads: New Release: INCANDESCENT by River Savage - Excerp...: Title:  Incandescent (Knights Rebels MC #1) Author:  River Savage Genre:  Erotic Romance Publication Date : August 11, 2014 Oh, ...

Nancy's Romance Reads: Book Review: CAPTURED by Jasinda and Jack Wilder

Nancy's Romance Reads: Book Review: CAPTURED by Jasinda and Jack Wilder: Genre: New Adult/Military Publication Date: August 12, 2014 SYNOPSIS You go into combat, you fear death. It's what keeps you c...

Nancy's Romance Reads: Cover Reveal: DAMAGED GOODS by Nicole Williams

Nancy's Romance Reads: Cover Reveal: DAMAGED GOODS by Nicole Williams: Title:  Damaged Goods (The Outsider Chronicles #2) Author:  Nicole Williams Genre:  New Adult Publication Date : September 9, 201...

Nancy's Romance Reads: Excerpt & Giveaway: PROMISED by Jodi Ellen Malpas

Nancy's Romance Reads: Excerpt & Giveaway: PROMISED by Jodi Ellen Malpas: Title:  Promised (One Night Trilogy #1) Author:  Jodi Ellen Malpas Genre:  Contemporary/Erotic Romance Publication Date : August ...

Friday, August 15, 2014

Resist (Songs of Submission #6) by C.D. Reiss

I know I sound like a broken record but this was the best book in the series. It seems that Jonathan and Monica have more in common than what they prefer in the bedroom. We find out the reason behind Jonathan's arrest and just have far Jessica would go to get what she felt she was owed. Although what she did was underhanded and deceitful and I can't help but feel sorry for her. The secret was a painful and shameful one, one he would keep from Monica as long as possible if not for Jessica's probing. Even though he told her the story because of his alcohol induced brain at the time I think even all that happened that night is a mystery even to him. For years he has gone by what was told to him. Just like most strong alpha's somewhere along the line something happened to him that made him want to close himself off. Then Monica entered his life and threatened to strip all that away. To make him into the man that was their all along. Thanks to a strategic and Monica's gift her career is just about to take off. The back and forth between the two just about drove me crazy. I thought things were settle in the previous book but I was wrong. What surprised me is that Jonathan was the one to walk away his way of protecting Monica. Though just as Jonathan knew Monica waited for him to return to her. I was happy when at last they accept their fate and realized they would be committed to each other. No more running what ever happens they would face it head on together. Their was a warning of a cliffhanger and that made only want to get my hands on the next and final book. Jonathan and Monica's story has been with so much angst, betrayal, and love.

Burn (Songs of Submission, #5) by C.D. Reiss

Even better than the last installment. This was a test to Monica and Jonathan's relationship. Jonathan gave Monica time to figure out what she wanted and who she would be if she went on with a relationship.Jonathan still took care of her letting her know even though they weren't together she was his. The angst and the sexual tension made this one of my favorite books in this series. Refusing to give in to their physical desires for more emotional and mental ones was something I wanted for the pair and never thought would happen. Now that they are fulling committed to each other. Sitting boundaries and no more running. That closeness was put to the test before they even landed back home. What does Jessica expect to gain from this act? To get him back, humiliated him, or break him up with Monica and humiliate her in the process?

Thursday, August 14, 2014

Control (Songs of Submission, #4) by C.D. Reiss

Something more dangerous than the past threatens their relationship and that's the truth. It seems like nothing could tear the couple apart but little seeds of doubt threatens what they have. What I love most about this installment is the POV from both Jonathan and Monica. You see Monica fallen in love and Jonathan finally letting go of any and all feelings he felt for her. This doesn't sit well with Jessica she threatens to get Jonathan back with the truth about his past with Rachel. I thought that he came completely clean but after Jessica talked to Monica I feel that there is more to the story than he told. I can't say that I was a fan of the ending. Once Monica sang her song she wrote about her romance with Jonathan it seems that would be the final straw that would break them up. If I know anything about Jonathan he protects what's his and he doesn't take no for an answer especially when its something he wants. So many questions left unanswered. I'm even more excited to read the next installment.

Wednesday, August 13, 2014

Submit (Songs of Submission #3) by C.D. Reiss

So much went on in this installment. Monica and Jonathan continued to navigate through their relationship. They realized that there was more going on than just the physical. Monica's professional career is starting to take steam though because of some underhanded maneuvers on behalf of the record company a friend felt betrayed and tragedy resided. Through this tragedy Monica is able to find her real voice. Monica and Jonathan although they haven't said the words are now committed to only each other. The things that scared them the most they will embraced it. Just when all seems right with the pair, Jonathan's past may just be thing that breaks them apart for good. Will Jonathan's ex wife turn into a woman scorned and ruin things between Monica and Jonathan now that that hold she once had on him gone? I wouldn't put it past her. This is my favorite book so far in this series. It was filled with love, heartbreak, pain, and acceptance. I can't wait read what lies with the next installment.

Tuesday, August 12, 2014

Tease (Songs of Submission #2) by C.D. Reiss

What usually happens after meeting a handsome man who is emotionally challenged though he makes you feel like no man ever did? Of course you begin to fall in love with him even though he was upfront and told you he would always be in love with his ex wife. He actions seems to be a bit contradictory. Not the attention he gives to her with they're physically intimate but afterwards. He takes care and on some level he cares more than he says which is perfect she's in denial that she has fallen for him. As what is always the case secrets and lies threaten their relationship. A friend who is no longer herself and two weird exes. One who wants to make amends or just wants her. Throw in a odd situation with Jonathan and his ex wife and things have gotten even more interesting.

Beg (Songs of Submission #1) by C.D. Reiss

It seems that Monica has a lot going on these days. A singer who loves her friends who is like her family. A singer who wants nothing more than to make it big and shut up the naysayers. A woman who has been so hurt by the man she loved the most that she decided to give up on love all together. Of course she becomes attracted to her ex boss who only wants her for one thing because he still loves the woman that wrecked his heart though Monica is all too willing to give in to Jonathan's demands. Though with her friends health and her singing career on the line can she ill afford the distraction? I think time will. serve to tell whether it will hurt or make her career better than ever.

Saturday, August 9, 2014

Ugly Love by Colleen Hoover

I knew since it was a Colleen Hoover novel I knew that I had to prepared, if this book was anything like her previous works. So I cried than I cried some more, more so than any book I've ever read of hers. Miles had lived through a parents best dream and then their worst nightmare. He fell in love instantly with his High School girlfriend. We experience his first love through his eyes. The highs, the lows and the disappointment. Then through terrible circumstances they are torn apart and forced to live with a pain no amount of time can ever fill or heal. I loved the back and forth between when he first started to have feeling for Tate and the first time he fell in love. While she is wondering what turned him into this hardened man we learn what devastated him so much that he was willing to run from what he was starting to feel. I also enjoyed the way some words were written on the page. Sometimes it looked like tiny drips and sometimes huge puddles which just fascinated and made me fall more in love with the characters. I'm so thankful that he had a friend like Ian who witness both versions of Miles' so when he told him off I actually smiled. Though it wasn't until he visited Rachel (his ex girlfriend) that I couldn't stop crying for so many reasons. Each book by Colleen Hoover gives me a reason to ugly cry but it also gives me reason to hope. No one is ever that broken, everyone needs time heal, and everyone deserves a little happiness after going through hell. After reading this book I emotionally feel like I just ran a marathon but its definitely a marathon over and over again.

Friday, August 8, 2014

Wednesday, August 6, 2014

Monday, August 4, 2014

Lead (Stage Dive, #3) by Kylie Scott

I didn't know what to make of the leader singer of the group. Based on the previous installments I made him to be nothing but a drunken douche with a wee bit of a sensitive side. So I gave him the benefit of the doubt finding out just how much he sacrificed as a kid and just how much weight was on Jimmy's shoulders. Dealing with his mother and her addiction for years to protect his brother. He never received the love he should have gotten from her all he got was the love of addictions. With that he never knew that he was capable of loving another human being because his mother said no one ever could. Just spending time with him Lena fell easy with him just being himself. Though getting him to rid himself of that old programming took some work. Jimmy wasn't at all as damaged and broken as he claimed he was. Through Lena he saw that he was and could be worthy of love. The group knew the love was there even when he couldn't admit it. Jimmy almost lost her because old the denial. Thankful like David and Malcolm he realized what he had and though he lost he briefly he win her back. With that said I'm all but convinced that Lizzy is the girl that our Ben falls for. With a wedding happening in Vegas no telling what will happen.

Play (Stage Dive, #2) by Kylie Scott

I am so in love with the members of stage dive. While we were dealing with mostly trust and relationship issues in the first installment this book left me an emotional wreck. Maybe because I can relate to both Malcolm and Anne. Malcolm uses sarcasm to cover up his pain and Anne is always others ahead if herself. The way the pair fell for each other had me laughing until I was crying. Love for them was unconventional. I was both happy and sad that Reece played the field and only noticed his friend when she was with someone else. Hopefully he'll learn to not let someone he cares about slip away. There was a health crises that change the dynamic of the story. It was both touching and heartbreaking seeing Malcolm undone and broken and having his brothers stand by him. That is what touched me in book one two, the love and brotherhood. Needless to say I needed a few tissues by the time I reached the end of the book. After I recover I look forward to reading Jimmy and Lena's story.

Saturday, August 2, 2014

Lick (Stage Dive, #1) by Kylie Scott

I've heard plenty about this series so I just had to read it. I mean who doesn't love a sensitive sexy tattooed alpha hottie rockstar? It was funny, romantic, intense and did I mention hot? Sometimes just when things doesn't make sense live comes in to make it even more confusing. Enters David Ferris guitarist to a band she hates. Through the course of the relationship he is able to heal from the wounds of relationships past while also finding his writing link again. Evelyn always had a plan but she realized it wasnt hers but her fathers plan. I loved the rest of the band as well. So funny and teasing just as brothers not just bandmates should be. I'm going to enjoy to read all there stories and see what made them the men they are. I'm excited for each book as this series continues.

Rogue (Real #4) by Katy Evans

Rogue was of those books I was counting down the release date and was ever so worth the wait. We continue the series with Melanie (brooke's bff) and Greyson King (heir to the underground fortune) and they couldn't be more opposite or made for each other. Its amazing after one night with this person you just know that they are the one. The moments they're together are hot and sometimes tender but when they are apart secrets and doubts and creep in to ruin the love the resides there unbeknownst to them. Greyson who had loved but swore to never love anyone else and Melanie who at the lost of her twin gre up feeling she doesn't deserve it. Somehow these two are able to complete each other. So many moments made hold my breathe and others made want wonder what is he/she is thinking. A story full of action, love, and drama. A little darker than the previous books in the series but I absolutely loved it.

Monday, June 30, 2014

Perfectly Broken (Perfect Imperfection #4) by Emily Jane Trent

Rarely does a book leave me at a loss for words but this is one of those books. The story of Tomas and Susanna. Susanna feels she is alone in the world with no one to love or care for her. It seems like life has dealt her an unfair share which leaves her in long standing state of depression. She uses drugs, booze, and sex as comforts if only for a little while. Though one night with Tomas makes her see things in a new light. In him she just may find a new way to cope. Tomas is everything she needs and wants though she is afraid. He takes control something she never had done by anyone. He loves her, cares about her and wants to let go of the sadness that she has held on for so long. By the end of this story I was emotionally broken and in tears. Definitely one of my top reads of 2014.

Monday, June 9, 2014

Fighting to Forgive (Fighting #2) by J.B. Salsbury

I thought I loved Blake in book one but I really fell head over heels in this one. Funny the man who claimed he'd never get in a relationship let alone one with child surprised me. I think his relationship was exactly what he needed in order to let go of the pain his father threw on his shoulders. To make him think that because he had this beautiful gift that he wasn't man. So happy that with Paula by his side he fully embraced it. That with Elle he was able to the father he never had growing up. I was amazed that her baggage only made him love her more and that in turn healed them both in the process. With the loves story came the people who wanted them apart or ruin their careers out of pure hatred. This installment was even better than the first. I also have to reiterate the fact that I love and absolutely adore Blake Daniels and if its. all possible him being a father in a committed relationship makes me love him even more and makes him a thousand times hotter. Especially with that voice and a guitar in his hand.

Unmasked: Volume 1 (Unmasked #1) by Cassia Leo

Didn't know what to think of this book but once I started reading but I must say I was intrigued from the beginning to end. A girl unloved by her mother trained to protect herself angst all enemies except the one she sees in the mirror. One night and handsome detective changed the course of her life. Toward the end when found she wasn't the naive girl she pretended to be. Though who she is exactly us called into question and by the end of this volume I was left with more questions than answers. Who is Daimon? Why does he claim she isn't who she say she is? I need answers I guess I have to wait for them.

Devil's Game (Reapers MC #3) by Joanna Wylde

Such in depth look into club life. I loved EM and Liam's story. I absolutely loved the chemistry between the couple. Feisty angry hot and most of all loyal. Seeing as there was two clubs involved meant something. They way the went all out for each other even the macho crap that made me cringe. It made me have even more respect for both clubs. Even the story surrounding it too. I loved that there was a third party to worry about. Between the love story and the story between the reapers DJs and the cartel. The last chapter added even more excitement to an otherwise perfect MC romance. I can't wait to read Reapers Stand its about time the president finally got his heart all healed up.

Tumbleweed by Julia Bramer

Another one of those stories that will haunt me in a good and bad way. A girl making her way in the world meets and falls in love for the first time. Circumstances forced their breakup and in the years after she became a shell of her former self. By taking photos no longer for the love of the art and leaving love out of sex. Until the life she was living nearly killed her. You see it everyday people for what ever reason living their lives recklessly until something dramatic and traumatic wakes them up and places them on the path they were meant to be on or maybe an even better one. We all go through things in this life and if you haven't you will. We must all take the time to process and heal and continue on the road we were meant travel. If not to move on for ourselves but for the people we may save along the way. A deeply personal and beautiful story. A who was a tumbleweed but became the flower she was always meant to be.

Forever Ours (Shattered Hearts 0.5) by Cassia Leo

This book sucked me after the first page I didn't put the book down until I was finished. The story of a girl who lost her mother young and for 8 years she had to keep her guard never feeling comfortable around anyone after going from foster home to foster home. Until she moves is with Chris and his mom and that first night you knew things wouldn't be the same for either of them. Chris knew from a young age that he wanted to be musician and a artist and he knew that eventually his hard work pay off. Seeing them go from friends to something more was beautiful which made it that much more heartbreaking when they had to break up. Why did they have to break up when it was obvious they were perfect for each and were destined to be together forever I have no idea. I look forward to continuing their story and hope fate isn't cruel to Chris and Claire. Please let them find their way back to each other.